Antik Browser Low severity

Antik Browser: password brute-forcing against user accounts, September 2023

On September 19, 2023, Antik Browser announced through its official channels that, according to its logs, someone was attempting to access users’ accounts by brute-forcing usernames and passwords.

Attack with no confirmed breach

What happened

Company did not publish the outcome of the attack

On September 19, 2023, Antik Browser said in its official channels that, judging by the logs, someone was trying to access user accounts by brute-forcing usernames and passwords. On September 22, the company said it had stopped the attempt and added a CAPTCHA to the login process. The company did not say whether any accounts had been compromised.

Who was affected

not reported

Unknown: the company did not disclose how many accounts were targeted or whether anyone had managed to access even one of them.

Losses

not reported

What the company did

According to the company, it stopped the attack and added a CAPTCHA to the login process. It advised users to use a strong password, a unique password for each service, and two-factor authentication. In May 2024, without a direct link to the attack, the company introduced email-code confirmation for logins from new devices and session management in the account dashboard, and removed the CAPTCHA.

Our editors collected and checked the sources; the text says who gives each figure.

Published October 10, 2026 Checked October 8, 2026

Company response or correction

Do you represent Antik Browser or have you spotted an inaccuracy? Send us a response or correction with a source link, and we’ll publish it in the “What the company did” section.

Contact us

How we count incidents. We count breaches and leaks on the service’s side, attacks through updates and extensions, account takeovers, and hacking attempts reported by the company itself. Brand impersonation, unverified complaints, patched vulnerabilities that were not exploited, DDoS attacks without data leaks, and account bans by platforms are not included in the incident count; they appear in the “Worth knowing” section. Checked October 8, 2026.